A Short(ish) List of Reasons I Like Tom Hiddleston

I’ve recently developed somewhat of a problem. I spend an inordinate amount of time on the internet (wait, there’s more to that sentence) looking at things to do with Tom Hiddleston. I don’t really know why, but I can’t get enough. I know I’m not alone, either. My friend Min is currently stuck at home with a broken foot, which means she has nothing to do but watch movies and lurk on the internet (the life I dream of). Sometimes, we call each other and spend at least half an hour discussing the finer points of why Hiddleston is pretty much amazing. We did it today, in fact. Anyway, in an attempt to get it out of my system, I have decided to dedicate a blog post to his handsome face. That way I’ll be able to move on…maybe.

But like…probably not though?

There are a lot of things that are quite likeable about Hiddleston. When I initially started writing this, it was just a garbled mix of capital letters and sobbing. I thought a second opinion might help, so I asked Min. All I got out of her was “BECAUSE REASONS! HE’S PERFECT! SHUTTUP! AHHH!” Obiviously, that didn’t really get me anywhere, so in an attempt to eke out a the tinest bit of coherent sentence structure, I have decided to make a list of things that are kind of lovely about Tom and hopefully you can begin to foster your own small Hiddleston obsession.

  1. The man is well-educated and well-spoken.  To steal a phrase from Sherlock, “brainy is the new sexy.” You know how they say that you should never meet your heroes because they’ll only disappoint? Well, because I am not a star-stalker (yet) the closest I get to meeting my heroes is reading/watching their press. Too many times have I had to cringe and turn off interviews because some actor’s misguided attempt at profundity has made me feel physically nauseous. Not so with Mr Hiddleston. Much is often made of the fact that he went to Eton and then later to Cambridge (where he earned a double first in Classics…excuse me while I swoon). But what’s really special is the fact that the quiet intelligence that can send you blazing through two of the most famous schools in Britain, can translate so nicely to something as fanastically unifying as popular culture.

    Hiddleston as Loki.

    You’ve probably seen Hiddleston in his stint as Loki in either Thor or The Avengers. Aside from having probably the most ridiculous costume in either of those movies, his performance was memorable and, despite his villainy, kind of loveable. What you may not have seen was his wonderful Guardian editorial in defence of superhero films. Here’s an excerpt:

    “Superhero films offer a shared, faithless, modern mythology… In our increasingly secular society, with so many disparate gods and different faiths, superhero films present a unique canvas upon which our shared hopes, dreams and apocalyptic nightmares can be projected and played out.”

    You can (and should) read the rest of it here, because it’s perfect. What can I say? I like ’em smart and on the same page as me and as soon as I read his editorial I knew I was going to have a problem.

  2. Does a masterful impression of Owen Wilson (amongst other things). I like a funny man. Better still, I like a man who can accurately and affectionately mimic everything from Owen Wilson to a velociraptor to the horse he had to ride for a Steven Spielberg movie (War Horse, in case you were wondering).

    His Owen Wilson is terrifyingly accurate, as is his Samuel L Jackson. Endearing? Why yes. Yes, he is.
  3. Has possibly the happiest Twitter feed in all the land. If you’re not following Tom Hiddleston on Twitter I’m not sure what you’re using the platform for. He doesn’t tweet constantly, but when he does it damn near brings a tear to your eye. He thanks his fans in a variety of adorable ways, congratulates other actors on their success, uses the phrase “uncontrollably excited” a lot and posts pictures of himself literally jumping for joy. What’s not to love? Have a sample:

    Adorable chat about fan-mail.

    Thanking everyone, whilst also quoting ‘True Romance’.

    Being uncontrollably excited about things.

    His wonderfully eclectic “Song of the Day” posts.

    Right. So I may have gone a little overboard there, but there is one more thing you need to see, because it’s the best.

    Why you so perfect?

    No sulky or angsty Tweets from Mr Hiddleston. Just lots of gratitude, some bizarre song choices and pictures of him generally being a wonderful person.

  4. Can, and will, rap all of the words to Will Smith’s Miami. Bless whoever asked Tom Hiddleston if he knew any rap songs, because this is what we got:

    I like a man who knows his cheesy late 90s rap music and is not afraid to sing along. On top of that, he also has crazy good dance skills – like, some serious electric slide shit. In the interests of not clogging my blog with endless YouTube videos the link is here. Dancing starts around 1.07. Just…watch it.
  5. Ability to turn villain into the character everyone loves. I kind of mentioned it before. There’s something a bit wonderful about Hiddleston’s performance as Loki. People like a good villain, but not in the same way as they love the hero. People love Heath Ledger’s Joker, but they’re not on Team Joker. Loki, on the other hand, has an army. An army of screaming fangirls, sure – but that’s arguably more terrifying anyway.

    Essentially, yes…

  6. Looks stupidly handsome whilst crying. I’m sure you’re familiar with the phrase “ugly crying”. I am an ugly crier. There are two people I can think of  in the whole world who do not look ugly whilst crying. One is Abbie Cornish (if you don’t understand, watch Bright Star) and the other is Tom Hiddleston. So I was very pleased when this popped up on Tumblr the other day. (Click the image for  link back to the creator’s blog.)
  7. Is adorably phsyically affectionate with other cast members. I don’t know why I enjoy it so much, I just do. Maybe it’s just cos I want everyone to look like they’re having a good time all the time. Check out this video of Hiddleston spooning Mark Ruffalo and tell me you didn’t explode.
  8. Ehehehe. Ehehehehe. Heheheheh. The Tumblr girls have definitely picked up on it, and by now I’m pretty sure the rest of the world has too. Tom Hiddleston giggles. A lot. And it’s a really distinctive laugh that sounds exactly like it’s written. Eheheheh. Here, have a video of it:

    If you cannot get on board with the unbridled joy that comes with that giggle then your soul is sad and I weep for you.

Right. I have to stop the list now because I could literally go on all day and I have shit that needs to get done (no…really). What I was trying to articulate here (aside from “would you all just look at his face please!?”) is that Tom Hiddleston is that rare breed of celebrity that actually seems like a human being. It’s easy to look at people in who are constantly in the limelight as detached and cool. And I like that. Don’t get me wrong, the man who is too cool is the man that I desperately want to be with – but only in some sort of black and white, film noir fantasy that has no engagement with reality. Whatever your type is, you know what I mean – they’re not just people, they’re a whole other breed.

But Hiddleston just kind of seems caught up in the joy of existing. He’s talented, he’s got a good sense of humour, he’s not afraid to actually look like he’s having fun. It makes him accessible and therefore likeable and I cannot get enough. Also, he’s handsome and has great hair. In short, he’s the perfect man and if he would like to call me then he is more than welcome. I’ll be waiting. (But seriously. Waiting.)

Edit: A couple of sentences in here are direct quotes from Min, because after she thought about it she was able to be slightly more coherent. Props to Min.

5 thoughts on “A Short(ish) List of Reasons I Like Tom Hiddleston

  1. This is such a fabulous blog; I love it. Tom Hiddleston is an amazing man for all of the reasons mentioned here; and I’m sure there are a lot more. I love him as Loki, what a hottie! I will be watching his other movies very soon. Thanks so much for creating this blog.

    -Mariela ❤

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

