Gaming On the Big Screen

Big news for geeks everywhere today: the film adaptation of game Assassin’s Creed has got a lead in the form of Inglourious Basterds/Prometheus star and all-round attractive person, Michael Fassbender. Let’s take a look at that face, shall we?

Yes, I chose the one where he had eye-liner on. Yes, that’s a thing I have. Shuttup.

I’m into it. I’m well into it. But that’s not the main point here. What I was trying to talk about before I got distracted by that smouldering gaze is the fact that about a million geeks everywhere have just about creamed their pants.

The fact that there were plans for an Assassin’s Creed film is not a revelation. Games company Ubisoft announced at the beginning of last year that they were forming their own company (imaginatively called Ubisoft Motion Pictures) to create films based on its more popular game titles. For the uninitiated, think like Splinter Cell and, of course, Assassin’s Creed. If you’ve not played Assassin’s Creed before, chances are you’re at least familiar with that image of one of the game’s protagonists:

This is not Fassbender’s character. Which is OK with me because I fear that the hood would obscure Fassy’s face. Fassy’s face is excellent and should  be widely celebrated. It is, however, the promotional image used everywhere for Assassin’s Creed, so there’s you might have noticed it floating around.

Anyway, Sony was initially on board as a studio partner to produce the film, however eventually Ubisoft rejected the offer, preferring to keep away from the (floundering) traditional studio system. It’s an interesting move. Basically, the film remains unattached right now but CEO of Ubisoft Motion Pictures, Jean-Julien Baronnet says that they’re “open to re-discuss with key studios once the production package is finalised.” So, that’s it. There’s no release date yet, but Ubisoft have stirred up a nerd frenzy. I do love a good nerd frenzy. All we have to do now, is wait.

Edit: So, the first time I posted this I stuffed up and said that the image above was Desmond Miles. It’s not. It’s another guy. Clearly I don’t game. But luckily, my friend does and has been waiting with baited breath for me to stuff up. It’s been corrected now. Thank you, Jonathon.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

